Marcus Paus


  • Music to Hear (Sonnet VIII)
    For Voice (soprano or mezzo-) & Alto Saxophone

    Text: William Shakespeare (in English)

    Durata: Ca. 5'

  • Sonata for Double Bass & Piano

    I. Introduction

    II. Cavatina

    III. Cabaletta

    Durata: Ca. 15'

    (Commissioned by Ingrid Andsnes & Dan Styffe, with funds from The Norwegian Composers' Fund)

  • The Harvesting
    For voice (mezzosoprano) & piano

    Text: Edvard Munch (in English), devised and translated by the composer

    Durata: Ca. 4'

    (Commissioned by the University of Oslo)

  • Trisyn
    For voice (bass) & piano

    I. No er det Jihad igjen (It's Jihad time again)

    II. Toteninsel

    III. Tvisyn (Twisight)

    Text: Cornelius Jakhelln (in Norwegian)

    Durata: Ca. 8'

  • Etterspill: Evighetens blikk (Afterplay: Eternity's Gaze)
    for voice (bass), piano, harp and treble voice(s)

    Text: Ole Paus (in Norwegian)





    Durata: Ca. 25'

    (Commissioned by Misk, with funds from the Norwegian Composer's Fund)

  • Fanfare for Two Violins
    for violin duet

    Durata: Ca. 3'

  • Som før (As Before)
    for mezzosoprano, tenor & piano

    I. Dessverre

    II. Vårt

    III. Hun

    IV. Vi

    Text: Hilde Lindset (in Norwegian)

    Durata: Ca. 12'

    (Commissioned by Josefine Visefestival 2015)

  • Requiem
    for voice (bass) & piano

    text: Ole Paus (in norwegian)

    Commissioned by MiSK

    Durata: ca.30'

    I. Introitus

    II. Graduale

    III. Dies Irae

    IV. Offertorium

    V. Agnus Dei

    VI. Libera Me

    VII. In Paradisum

  • 13 Ways
    for soprano and clarinet
    • I.
    • II.
    • III.
    • IV.
    • V.
    • VI.
    • VII.
    • VIII.
    • IX.
    • X.
    • XI.
    • XII.
    • XIII.

    Text: Wallace Stevens (in English)

    Durata: Ca. 15'

  • Læreren som ikke ble (The Teacher Who Was Not To Be)
    et monodrama fra virkeligheten (a real-life mono drama)

    Libretto: Læreren som ikke ble (The Teacher Who Was Not To Be) (in Norwegian)

    For one soloist (bass) & piano

    Durata : Ca. 8'

  • Screwing Britten (Fantasy on themes from Benjamin Britten's opera 'The Turn of the Screw')
    for double bass & percussion
    • I. Prologue & Passacaglia
    • II. Night Piece
    • III. Malo!

    Durata : Ca. 16'

    (commissioned by Horten kammermusikkfest)

  • String Quartet no. 4
    • (on a painting by Edvard Munch)
    • Durata : Ca. 16'
    • (commissioned by the faust quartet, with funding from the norwegian composers' fund)